Albert Wuokko Award 2018

The Finnish Pharmaceutical Society has awarded the Albert Wuokko prize of 2018 to Dr Monica Ferreira.

In her PhD thesis, porous silicon and dextran-based materials were developed in the form of a nanoparticle technology, for the targeted delivery of drugs in myocardial infarction. With this work, it was possible to achieve, by a simple i.v. administration of drug loaded- and surface functionalized porous silicon nanoparticles, a protective cardiac effect by downregulation of one of the pathways leading to the hypertrophic response upon the event of myocardial infarction in vivo. The dextran-based nanoparticles were surface-functionalized and co-loaded with two different drug molecules, which permitted, in vitro, the modulation of pathways involved in the cellular reprogramming of fibroblasts into cardiomyocytes.

This doctoral work contributes with significant knowledge of new nanoparticle technology in the treatment of myocardial infarction, a pathological condition that leads to sudden death or heart failure in the non-fatal cases, a condition that, up to date, has no cure. The work has lead to the publication of several research papers and presentation of this work in national and international scientific meetings.

The prize is 4000 euro.

Congratulations for this great achievement!

Best articele award

Best article award, 500 €, has been given to:

Dunja Novakovic, Jukka Saarinen, Tatu Rojalin, Osmo Antikainen, Sara J. Fraser-Miller, Timo Laaksonen, Leena Peltonen, Antti Isomäki and Clare J. Strachan:

Multimodal Nonlinear Optical Imaging for Sensitive Detection of Multiple Pharmaceutical Solid-State Forms and Surface Transformations

Analytical Chemistry 2017, 89, (21), 11460-11467


Most outstanding pharmaceutical doctoral thesis awards 2016-2017

Elisa Lazaro Ibanez from University of Helsinki with the thesis titled "Extracellular vesicles: prospects in prostate cancer biomarker discovery and drug delivery"

Laura Hellinen from University of Eastern Finland with the thesis titled "Melanin binding and drug transporters in the retinal pigment epithelium: insights to retinal drug delivery"

Mirja Palo from Åbo Akademi University with the thesis titled "Design and development of personalized dosage forms by printing technology"

Most outstanding pharmaceutical research article 2016-2017 award

Miina Ruokolainen, Elisa Ollikainen, Tiina Sikanen, Tapio Kotiaho and Risto Kostiainen: Oxidation of tyrosine-phophopeptides by titanium dioxide photocatalysis. J. Am. Chem. Soc. 138 (2016) 7452

The Finnish Pharmaceutical Society is a scientific society founded in 1887, with coverage of the whole country. The aim of the society is to promote the pharmaceutical sciences, pharmaceutical research and the applications of these in Finland. The society allocates also grants and awards for individual researchers.

The society arranges lectures, discussions or courses concerning the recent developments in the area of pharmaceutical research and other current topics related to the field. The society is actively cooperating with the other national and international societies working in the same area of interests.

The society is also a member society of the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies.